top of page

Sustainability for Everyone

When thinking about starting this Blog, I was initially inspired by my Sister (who is amazing) who has repeatedly asked me for the past 4 years:

"So.... What are you studying in school again?"

followed by

"What will you do with that?"

Haha and for the longest time, I never really knew how to respond. Yes, technically I am going to get a BA in Environmental Geography, however, I was not entirely sure ever what my career choices would materialize into. In many cases I would describe to her what I was studying during that semester currently such as climate change, consumerism, cultural ecology's, or environmental histories. To which her response would be a subtle glazing over, sadness over the topic in which I described, and/or statements such as:

"How can we do anything about that? That's a HUGE problem! Doesn't that depress you? I can't fix it!"

The last two are the most common heard statements I hear. "Doesn't that depress you?" Yes! Of course it does! The world is going to hell in a hand basket, of course is makes me sad! BUT, I have hope because of the number of people who said that they couldn't make a difference, collectively can. This collective change is the easiest and most effective way to make positive changes in our world. We are not talking about a drastic shift such as moving to a commune, but simple everyday changes which ADD UP, person by person, household by household. We can do something, and it is actually fairly easy to begin with.

That's where this blog is going to begin. I am writing this for individuals and families who have the intention and desire to be better to this planet. This spinning blue ball gives us everything we need to survive... We are going to need to look after it.

This blog is for my Sister and those a like. People who want to make a change, but are busy, tired, have families and their corresponding chaos. People who work, are students, live in the city, or live in the country. I hope to provide suggestions, tips, and advice on how to work sustainable lifestyle methods into your everyday life. So let's not be afraid of change, let's embrace it.

Sustainable lifestyles are 50% intention. You want to make a difference? You can. They are 25% organization. Yep, organization. "If you fail to plan you plan to fail" they say. By staying organized or creating better organization in your life you can become a better citizen of the planet. Lastly it is 25% implementation. Humans are the most adaptable creatures on the planet, it's why we live all over the world. Once we implement a lifestyle change, we adapt! Once that becomes a part of your life, time to make another step. This isn't a sprint, it's a marathon (just less hard and sweaty haha).

If you're already a ZeroWaster, Permaculture advocate, or environmentalist, you're probably not going to read this blog, although you're welcome to! It will be full of funny stories, sarcasm, and likely pictures of my cats, so there is that. However, it's likely you're already on your way.

I hope to provide simple steps, easy to follow advice that can be implemented into all walks of life and all budgets. You already have the intention (you're reading this!) So I hope to provide the other 50%. I want to help you learn how to organize your shopping, home, and habits in a sustainable manner and then provide you with useful advice to take into the real world to implement it!

Let's make sense of sustainability.

-Heather

bottom of page